Office of Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti

Resources for Unaccompanied Minors

Introduction:

Over the past few months, thousands of unaccompanied minors from Central America (namely Honduras, Guatemala, and El Salvador) are fleeing to the United States, escaping high incidences of poverty and gang violence in their home countries. In response, Mayor Garcetti has pledged his support (link to news article) to help provide humanitarian treatment for these minors.

Here are some facts about these minors:

  • By the end of this year, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) expects the number of unaccompanied immigrant minors in the U.S. to reach 90,000.
  • As minors, they are taken under custody by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) and placed in temporary shelters throughout the country.  After screening, they are put under legal guardianship of their respective sponsors while they await court proceedings. 
  • There are currently 1,993 unaccompanied minors residing with sponsors in Los Angeles County.
  • 90% of minors are reunited with a family member.
  • As they are awaiting court proceedings and no longer under the custody of HHS, these minors are reunited with a family member. Yet, due to their unique circumstances, they are often in great need of both social and legal resources.

The Mayor's Office of Immigrant Affairs has created the following strategy to address this issue:

  1. Convenings: Convened local stakeholders from the philanthropic, non-profit, government, legal, and religious communities to coordinate efforts to address the impact of these unaccompanied minors to the local Los Angeles area.
  2. Relief Fund: Created a fund (LINK) for unaccompanied minors with the Weingart Foundation, California Community Foundation, and The California Endowment that will provide funding and organization to provide social and legal resources to Central American communities.
  3. Partnered with the Salvation Army together with the city of Los Angeles Emergency Management Team and the Mayor’s Office to create an in-kind donation drive.
  4. Developed a list of resources which will be distributed to local youth here and can be accessed online.

Resources:

There are many resources available to unaccompanied immigrant minors and their families:

AGENCY

CONTACT NAME

ADDRESS

PHONE #

EMAIL

Website

Kids in Need of Defense (KIND)

Rosalind Oliver

400 S. Hope St, 8th Floor

Holland & Knight LLP, KIND-LA

Los Angeles, CA 9007

(213) 896-2515

roliver@supportkind.org

http://www.supportkind.org/en/

 

Esperanza Legal Immigrants Project

Eric Mendoza

1530 James M. Wood Blvd.

Los Angeles, CA 90015

(213) 251-3540

emendoza@ccharities.org

http://www.esperanza-la.org/en/

 

American Civil Liberties Union

 

1313 W. 8th Street

Los Angeles CA 90017

(213) 977-9500

 

https://www.aclu.org/

 

Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Foundation (MALDEF)

 

634 S. Spring Street

Los Angeles, CA 90014 

(213) 629-2512

 

http://www.maldef.org/

 

Salvadorean Legal Aid Fund (SALEF)

Guillermo Giron

Ever Hillerprandt

1625 W Olympic Blvd suite 718, Los Angeles, CA 90015

213-480-1052

ggiron@salef.org       ehilleprandt@salef.org  

http://www.salef.org/

 

Central American Resource Center (CARECEN)

Daniel Sharp

(Legal Director) 

Alan Barkhordar

2845 West 7th St.

Los Angeles, CA 90005

(213) 385-7800

dsharp@carecen-la.org

 

abarkhordar@carecen-la.org

http://www.carecen-la.org/

 

Consulado General de Mexico en Los Angeles

Patricia Perez-Galeana

2401 W. 6th St.

Los Angeles, CA 90057

(213) 368-2732

pperez@sre.gob.mx

http://consulmex.sre.gob.mx/losangeles/

Immigration Center for Children and Women

Nickole Miller

634 S Spring St,

Suite 727

Los Angeles, CA 90014

(213) 614-1165

nickole@icwclaw.org

http://icwclaw.org/

International Institute of Los Angeles

Beeta Aminitehrani 

Alicia Crescencio-Robles

435 S. Boyle Ave #09

Los Angeles, CA 90033

(818) 244-2550 ext.

286

baminitehrani@iilosangeles.org

 

arobles@iilosangeles.org

http://www.iilosangeles.org/

 

International Rescue Committee

Martin Zogg 

Biljana Debogovic

625 N. Maryland Ave., Glendale, CA 91206

(818) 937-2860

Martin.zogg@rescue.org

 

Biljana.debogovic@rescue.org

 

http://www.rescue.org/

 

LA Center for Law and Justice

Michelle Carey 

Angela McNair Turner

1241 S. Soto St.

Suite 102

Los Angeles, CA 90023

(323) 980-3500 x 30

Michelle@laclj.org 

http://www.laclj.org/

 

California Pacific Conference of the United Methodist Church

Rev. David Farley, Director of Justice and Compassion Ministries

110 S Euclid Ave
Pasadena, CA

626-568-7356

dfarley@calpacumc.org

http://www.calpacumc.org/

Southwestern Law School, Immigration Law Clinic *Space is limited

Julia Vazquez

3050 Wilshire Blvd,

Los Angeles, CA 90010

(213) 738-5574

Jvasquez@swlaw.edu

http://www.swlaw.edu/academics/explearning/clinic/immigrationclinic

 

USCRI at International Institute of LA

Daliah Ulloa

3800 La Crescenta Avenue, Suite #201

Glendale, CA 91214

(323) 987-8286

DUlloa@iilosangeles.org

http://www.refugees.org/

 

USCRI at Children's Bureau

Nancy Hernandez

50 S. Anaheim Blvd.

#241

Anaheim, CA 92805;

(949) 599 -8496

nancyhernandez@all4kids.org

http://www.refugees.org/our-work/child-migrants/case-management.html

Catholic Immigration Services

 

1530 James M. Wood Blvd., Los Angeles, California 90015

(213) 251-3411

 

 

Public Counsel

Judy London (Directing Attorney) 

Katka Werth (Staff Attorney

610 S. Ardmore Ave

Los Angeles, CA 90005

(213) 385-2977

jlondon@publiccounsel.org

 

kwerth@publiccounsel.org

http://www.publiccounsel.org/

 

Legal Aid Foundation of Los Angeles (LAFLA)

Michael Ortiz (Special Counsel) 

Daliah Setareh (Senior Attorney) 

Carolina Sheinfeld (Project Coordinator)

Nancy Reyes (Senior Attorney) 

Dominique Quevedo(Staff Attorney)

Phong Wong (Pro Bono Director)

 

1102 S. Crenshaw

Los Angeles, CA

90019

 

West Office

(323)801-7989

 

East Office

(213)640-3883

 

Long Beach Office

(562) 435-3501

mortiz@lafla.org

 

dsetareh@lafla.org

 

csheinfeld@lafla.org

 

nreyes@lafla.org

 

dquevedo@lafla.org

 

pwong@lafla.org

http://www.lafla.org/

 

Esperanza Legal Immigrants Project

Lindsay Toczylowski

Carolina Garza de Luna 

Megan Vees

Javier Miranda Jr.

1530 James M. Wood Blvd.

Los Angeles, CA 90015

(213) 251-3565

LToczy@CCHARITIES.ORG

CGarzadeLuna@CCHARITIES.ORG

 

mvees@ccharities.org

 

jmiranda@ccharities.org

http://www.esperanza-la.org/en/

 

Asian Pacific American Legal Center of Southern California

 

1145 Wilshire Bl. Floor 2. Los Angeles, CA 90015

(213) 977-7500

 

http://www.apalc@earthlink.net

 

El Rescate Legal Services

 

1340 S Bonnie St. Los Angeles, CA 90006

(213) 387-3284

 

 

Immigration Legal Assistance Project

Mary Mucha

300 N Los Angeles St. Ste: 3107 Los Angeles, CA 90012

(213) 485-1873/ Intake pone: (213) 485-1873

 

http://www.lacba.org

Loyola Immigrant Justice Clinic

Emely Robinson, Marissa Montes, Kathleen Kim

919 Albany St. Suite, Cassasa 101, Los Angeles, CA 90017

(213) 736-8136 or (213) 736-8138

hbic@lls.edu

 

International rescue Committee

Martin Zogg, Biljana Debogovic

625 N Maryland Avenue Glendale, CA 91206

(818) 937-2860

martin.zogg@rescue.org

 

biljana.debogovic@rescue.org

 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services- Administration for Children and Families

 

901 D Street, SW Washington, DC 20447

(202) 401-9246

 

 

Southwestern Law School, Immigration Law Clinic

Julia Vazquez

3050 Wilshire Bl. Los Angeles, CA 90010

(213) 738-5574

jvasquez@swlaw.edu

 

Children’s Institute, Inc

 

711 New Hampshire Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90005

(213) 385-5100

 

www.childrensinstitute.org

Los Angeles Child Guidance Center

 

3787 Vermont Avenue Los Angeles, CA 90007

(323) 766-2345 or (323) 221-4134

 

www.lacgc.org

 

 

Consulates

AGENCY

CONTACT NAME

ADDRESS

PHONE #

EMAIL

Website

Mexican Consulate

 

2401 West 6th. Street, Los Angeles CA 90057

213-351-6800 x 2518

 

www.sre.gob.mx/losangeles

Salvadoran Consulate

Julio Martinez, Consul de Proteccion Consular

3450 Wilshire Bvld. Suite # 250 Los Angeles, CA 90010

(213) 864-6446

correo@elsalvador.org

http://www.elsalvador.org/

 

Consulado General de Guatemala Los Angeles

Pablo Cesar Garcia Sanchez

3540 Wilshire Bl. Suite 1000

Los Angeles, CA 90010

(213)- 365-9251

conslosangeles@minex.gob.gt

http://www.conslosangeles.minex.gob.gt/Home/Home.aspx

Consulado General de Honduras Los Angeles

 

3550 Wilshire Bl. Suite 320 Los Angeles, CA 90010

(213) 992-6406

Cghonduras.losangeles@yahoo.com

http://www.hondurasemb.org/

 

State and Local Social Services 

AGENCY

CONTACT NAME

ADDRESS

PHONE #

EMAIL

Website

California Community Foundation (CCF)

Steve Reyes

221 S. Figueroa St. Suite 400 Los Angeles, CA 90012

(213) 413-4130

sreyes@calfund.org

https://www.calfund.org/

Jovenes Inc.

Luis Medina

Guadalupe Redolledo

1208 Pleasant Ave

Los Angeles, CA 90033

(323) 260-8035 Ex. 102

Ex. 101

imedina@jovenesinc.org

grebolledo@jovenesin.org

http://www.jovenesinc.org/#0

Catholic Charities of Los Angeles

Angie Lopez

357 S. Weslake Ave Los Angeles, CA 900575

213-413-2311

angielopez@angelesflightla.org

http://catholiccharitiesla.org/

Catholic Charities Central Intake Unit

 

4322 San Fernando Rd. Glendale, California 91204

(818) 502-2002

 

http://catholiccharitiesla.org/

Catholic Charities Refugee Resettlement Program

Anita Lim

1530 James M. Wood Bld. Los Angeles, California 90015

(213) 251-3411 (213) 251-3514

alim@ccharities.org

http://catholiccharitiesla.org/

 

Medical Services

AGENCY

CONTACT NAME

ADDRESS

PHONE #

EMAIL

Website

Los Angeles County Department of Public Health

Dr. Susie Baldwin

313 N. Figueroa St, Room 127, Los Angeles, 90012

(213) 989 -  7028

phinfo@ph.lacounty.gov

http://publichealth.lacounty.gov/

 

Maternal and Child Health Access

Soledad Cisneros

1200 N. State Street, Los Angeles, CA 90033

(213) 749-4261

info@mchaccess.org

http://.www.mchaccess.org

UMMA Community Clinic

Jacky Provos

711 W Florence Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90044

(323) 406-5784

healthcare4all@ummaclinic.org

http://www.ummaclinic.org/

Fremont Wellness Center

Shellen Price

7821 S. Avalon Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90003

(323) 789-5610

healthcare4all@ummaclinic.org

http://www.ummaclinic.org/

St. John’s Well Child & Family Center

 

808 W. 58th St. Los Angeles, CA 90037

(323) 541-1600

info@wellchild.org

http://www.wellchild.org/contact-us/

Psychological Services

AGENCY

CONTACT NAME

ADDRESS

PHONE #

EMAIL

Website

Program for Torture Victims (PTV)

 

3655 S. Grand Ave.

Suite 290

Los Angeles, CA 90007

(213) 747-4944

 

http://ptvla.org/

LA County Dept. of Mental Health Transitional Age Youth Division

Christi Acosta

550 S. Vermont Ave 4th Floor Los Angeles, CA 90020

(213) 494-8675

Cacosta@dmh.lacounty.gov

http://dmh.lacounty.gov/wps/portal/dmh/our_services/tay

 

Education Services

AGENCY

CONTACT NAME

ADDRESS

PHONE #

EMAIL

Notes

Website

LAUSD- People’s Services

 

333 S Beaudry Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90017

(213) 241-3844

 

All students can enrolled at the school where they are residing, no matter their immigration status.

http://achieve.lausd.net/Page/1143

All Peoples Community Center

Julia Huerta

822 E. 20th St. Los Angeles, CA 90011

(213) 747-6357

allpeoples@allpeoplescc.org

 

http://www.allpeoplescc.org/index.php/program/education

El Santo Nino Community Services Center

Elisabeth Soriano

601 East 23rd St. Los Angele, California 90011

(213) 748-5246

esoriano@ccharities.org

 

http://catholiccharitiesla.org/

 

Clothing & Goods

AGENCY

CONTACT NAME

ADDRESS

PHONE #

EMAIL

Website

Salvation Army

 

906 Francisco St
Los Angeles, CA

(213) 896-9178

 

http://www.salvationarmyusa.org/

Schools on Wheels Inc.

Matt Raab, (Program Director) 

Catherine Meek (Executive Director)

83 S Palm Street

Ventura, CA 93001

(805) 798-3439

 

 

mraab@schoolonwheels.org 

Cmeek@schoolonwheels.org

 

http://www.schoolonwheels.org/